Hi Everyone,
I have to share something with you. It's not a positive thing, especially for a girl. But it really annoys me.
This morning I went to the park with my parents. I was playing badminton with my Mom, but I had to run home for water because we ran out of it. As I was walking home only with a cell phone and a key in my hands, I noticed that there are more people on the streets, unlike in the very early morning when we went out to the park. It's probably a shame that everytime I go out of the house, it happens with my family. As an almost 17 years old girl, I should be more independent and go out more than I do during the summer. Of course to school I walk alone and stuff. Or with friends. The bad thing is, whenever I have a program in Manhattan, I never go alone, I always have a companion with me. Maybe my good friend or my parents. I used to be very angry at my Mom because she worries about me too much. But today as I walked home, finally I understood her.
The bad thing in Brooklyn, especially where we live, that it's not the most elite part of New York City. People are not rich here, not so educated, and they have some bad manners. It's a little bit dangerous. This Brooklyn part of New York is even bigger than the city we came from. So I see that as woman from a small city with only one daughter, comes to a huge city with a lot of bad people, she has some fears. Because yes, there are things happening in this small borough which makes my Mom worried. For example young women go missing, there are people who rape women or just steal from them. Especially from young ones. But these only happen at night time and that time of the day, I don't really go out alone. However, I've experienced things that are not really pleasant for me.
Why does that keep happening if I decide to go out to the store to buy something or I just go alone to the library, there is always one man (not the same of course) who starts whistle to me, or as I pass by he starts to say "nice" things to me. This morning as I was walking home, there was this man who started to say things. I didn't even look in his eyes, because that's what my mother taught me. I totally ignored him. But he kept coming after me and saying things. I had to walk faster so he stopped coming after me. And this was during daytime! When other people were on the street. Not to mention the time when I was walking to somewhere and next to the pavement a car started to slow down. A boy, who was around 23-26, started to ask questions like 'Do you have a boyfriend?' or 'Do you want me to give you a ride?' and I ignored him and as he came slowly after me with his car and I didn't say a word to me, suddenly he got bored and he drove away but before he did that, he told me that I'm a b*tch.
How on Earth would I be a b*tch when I tried to ignore him as much as I could? If I would have gotten into his car and I would have been playful with him, then he has the right to say I'm a b*tch. I really don't understand these men. I'm sure there are some girls here who would like this, but I really don't.
So I can understand now why my Mom is so worried. If I would be in her place, I would act in the same way. The worst thing is, there is nothing I can do, or other girls/women. This is a shame how some men treats the other gender. They don't even think about it that I might be under 18. Because I am, I just look older than the others in my age. But in America it's a serious crime if you do something bad with someone who is under 18, especially if the person is a girl.
With this, of course I'm not saying that every men are like these because I'm not sexist, I don't have a problem with men like those women who are over acting on their feminist views. I'm just saying that those men who are like these whom I described, they some serious mental problem. *khm-khm, just idiots*
Let's not talk about the younger age. I really hate it when I'm in school and some boys think that it's okay to be a jerk with a girl and tease her and ask her for "things". You probably think that the way I'm looking at the world is too serious and I can't recognize joke. But it's not true. I'm a really positive person and I'm in things, I love joking, but everything has a limit. And I just hate it very much when specific men think about women as an object. They give this fear to young girls who just try to do their everyday things, but they just can't because these men are in the way.
There are bad women, not just bad men. Every gender has its own "trash". But as a girl I just notice what those kind of men do. The funny thing is, I didn't even look "nice" or "sexy" (not like I look that way anyways though). I was just wearing shorts and tank top because it's bloody hot outside and only Converse sneakers. My hair was just in a braid and nothing special. But it seems like this everyday - sport - outfit could catch a man's attention. Seriously? Like why?
I don't feel safe here. I'm afraid maybe not today or tomorrow, but one day when I'm going to be all alone and maybe older, something bad is going to happen. I know I should focus on positive things and not worry about it. But I still do. It's probably sounds dumb, especially if you are a boy and you are reading this now. But if you are a girl, and you experienced this, then you know what I'm talking about. If you don't know, then you are lucky, because it's not a good feeling. The weird thing is, even my Mom and my Grandma got into a situation like this. It's just a shame. A very shameful thing.
I don't know how was this in the 'old days', but now I think it's just even worse. People think that they can do anything, because it's a free country. Everyone has his/her freedom. But first I recommend them to read about the rights for humanity and learn some propriety.
I apologize for this post. I know it's not positive and it's not the usual 'happy tone' from me. But I had enough and I had to write out my words. Maybe a men like I mentioned will notice this and realize what he does is bad. Or maybe not.
But at least I have the freedom to let other people know how hard is for a young girl in Brooklyn. Because everyone thinks, especially Hungarians who I know, that I'm very lucky. Yes, in one way I'm lucky that I'm here and etc. But everything has a flaw, just like this. Life is really not perfect here. Really not. There is no place on this Earth where life would be easy. Unless you are rich and you have your own island and no one bothers you. Then I say that you are lucky. But otherwise, this world where we live now, it's an imperfect mess which was created by humanity.
- Timi
No comments:
Post a Comment